#4 Intense discussion in the cultural committee and fixing of the workshop dates: Save the date!

The Innsbruck Cultural Strategy 2030 was in focus of the Cultural Committee meeting at the beginning of December 2020. At first, Mag.a Aliette Dörflinger informed about the status of the work, especially on the preparations for the topic workshops that will start this spring.

The first three dates have now been fixed:

  • Wednesday, April 14, 2021, 5 p.m.
  • Monday, May 17, 2021, 5 p.m.
  • Tuesday, June 15, 2021, 5 p.m.

Save the date!

Duration of the workshops approx. 3.5 hours. The locations (possibly also a digital variant) and the topics of the workshops will be announced soon, as the dates of the workshops that follow in September, October and November.

Afterwards, MMag. Thomas Philipp gave an insight into the currently ongoing baseline study work. He primarily addressed initial findings from the 33 interviews conducted and talked about several topics that are of particular importance for the future of Innsbruck as a city of culture. Two of these topics were then discussed intensively for more than an hour in the Culture Committee:

  • Art and culture in public space
  • Fundings and criteria

The participants in the session addressed their ideas of what the city of Innsbruck should have achieved on these two topics in 2030 and what supporting or hindering factors there are to consider.

The discussion on “Art and Culture in Public Space” led from reflections on visions of urban space, on the special topography of Innsbruck and on the increased use of urban peripheral locations, to questions of the connection between quality of stay and art and culture in public space, thoughts on the interface between culture and urban development or traffic planning, to questions of curation and cultural education as well as bureaucratic issues. On the topic of “Funding and Criteria” various approaches on the formulation of funding criteria were reflected upon, considerations on setting priorities and evaluation were discussed, and the consequences of Fair Pay for fundings were debated.

The meeting of the Culture Committee was attended by Uschi Schwarzl (GRÜNE), the city councilor in charge of the department at that time, as well as the members of the Culture Committee Irene Heisz (SPÖ), Christoph Appler (ÖVP), Andrea Dengg (FPÖ), Astrid Denz (FPÖ), Thomas Lechleitner (GRÜNE), Dejan Lukovic (GRÜNE), Mesut Onay (ALI), Theresa Ringler (Für Innsbruck) and Julia Seidl (NEOS), furthermore by Isabelle Brandauer (MA V, Cultural Department of the City of Innsbruck), Rita Hebenstreit (MA V, Cultural Department of the City of Innsbruck), Birgit Neu (MA V – Society, Culture, Health and Sports), Thomas Philipp (LIquA) and Aliette Dörflinger (external project managemer, for LIquA).

More details of the discussion – similar to the interview results – will be included in the baseline study for the cultural strategy, which will be published here on this website in March.

#2 Update Cultural Strategy Process: A glance at the project team

The cultural strategy process is currently in the middle of the first step. On the one hand, this includes scientific surveys and analyses, and on the other hand, the preparation of next year’s discussion and workshop formats. The project team plays a central role in this process. It is responsible for the strategic control and coordination and consists of four persons:

The next necessary steps are discussed at regular intervals. At the last meeting, for example, the selection criteria for the interview partners in the context of the baseline study were defined.

„Currently, the project team is creating a good basis for a broad discussion about Innsbruck’s cultural future. As many Innsbruck residents as possible should be able to contribute constructively and imaginatively. This also includes good cooperation between the various departments of our house. I am very much looking forward to the results of the ongoing researches and interviews.“

Mag.a Uschi Schwarzl, Vice mayor of the City of Innsbruck

„We have chosen to ensure broad participation of the population throughout the process. It is therefore – already for the baseline study – important to recruit multipliers who are well connected in as many areas and interfaces as possible and have sufficient expertise. This is an essential basis for the selection of interview partners, but also for the composition of the working group and the advisory board. We don’t make it easy for ourselves and discuss this very intensively. It is also important for us to have a diverse setup.“

Dipl.-Kult.in Rita Hebenstreit, Office for cultural affairs of the City of Innsbruck

Aliette Dörflinger conducts the interviews together with her colleague Thomas Philipp from the Linzer Institute für Qualitative Analysen.

„Our interview partners cover different forms of organization, different artistic disciplines, traditional and contemporary approaches to art and culture, different phases from artistic production to education, amateur and professional work and interfaces such as tourism, education or business. We were also interested in the view from the outside, as well as we took socio-demographic characteristics such as gender or age into consideration.“

Mag.a Aliette Dörflinger, external project manager

In the December article on the website, the list of interview partners will be published, together with a short insight into the ongoing baseline study.

The project team also intensively discussed the composition of the working group and the advisory board, which will be active from April 2021 to accompany the discussions and workshops. Both boards will be staffed by the office for cultural affairs of the City of Innsbruck. For the workshops themselves, the possible dates and locations were explored and a plan B was discussed in case – unexpectedly – there should be restrictions on events.

„A careful approach to the cultural strategy process is very important to us. We want to create an optimal framework for broad participation. This includes, for example, addressing different target groups personally, changing workshop locations in different parts of the city, or digital possibilities for contribution.“

Dr.in Isabelle Brandauer, Office for cultural affairs of the City of Innsbruck

The linking of art, culture and urban planning is a particular concern in the cultural strategy process.

„We will have to deal with a number of issues related to the further development of urban space. Examples include the cultural use of vacant buildings, cultural work in urban districts, and the role of architecture in the urban experience.“

Arch. Dipl.-Ing. Philipp Fromm, Department for Urban Planning, Urban Development and Integration of the City of Innsbruck

#4 Intensive Diskussion im Kulturausschuss und Fixierung der Workshop-Termine: Save the date!

Die Kulturstrategie Innsbruck 2030 stand im Mittelpunkt der gemeinderätlichen Sitzung des Kulturausschusses Anfang Dezember 2020. Zu Beginn wurde von Mag.a Aliette Dörflinger über den Stand der Arbeiten informiert, insbesondere hinsichtlich der Vorbereitung zu den Themen-Workshops, die dieses Frühjahr starten.

Die ersten drei Termine wurden mittlerweile fixiert:

  • Mittwoch, 14. April 2021, 17 Uhr
  • Montag, 17. Mai 2021, 17 Uhr
  • Dienstag, 15. Juni 2021, 17 Uhr

Save the date!

Dauer der Workshops ca. 3,5 Stunden. Die Orte (ggf. auch eine digitale Variante) und die Themen der Workshops werden rechtzeitig bekanntgegeben, ebenso wie die Termine der im September, Oktober und November folgenden Workshops.

Einen Einblick in die derzeit laufenden Grundlagenarbeiten gab anschließend MMag. Thomas Philipp. Er ging vor allem auf erste Erkenntnisse aus den 33 geführten Interviews ein und streifte mehrere Themen, die für die Zukunft der Kulturstadt Innsbruck von besonderer Bedeutung sind. Zwei dieser Themen wurden danach im Kulturausschuss mehr als eine Stunde lang intensiv diskutiert:

  • Kunst und Kultur im öffentlichen Raum
  • Förderwesen und Kriterien

Die Teilnehmer*innen an der Sitzung gingen dabei auf ihre Vorstellungen davon ein, was die Stadt Innsbruck im Jahr 2030 bei diesen beiden Themen erreicht haben soll und welche unterstützenden bzw. hinderlichen Faktoren es zu berücksichtigen gibt.

Die Diskussion zur „Kunst und Kultur im öffentlichen Raum“ führte von Überlegungen zu Visionen von Stadtraum, zur besonderen Topografie Innsbrucks und zur verstärkten Bespielung städtischer Randlagen über Fragen des Zusammenhangs zwischen Aufenthaltsqualität und Kunst und Kultur im öffentlichen Raum, Gedanken zur Schnittstelle zwischen Kultur und Stadtentwicklung oder Verkehrsplanung bis hin zu Kuratierungs- und Vermittlungsfragen sowie bürokratischen Themen. Beim Thema „Förderwesen und Kriterien“ wurden verschiedene Vorgehensweisen bei der Fassung von Förderkriterien reflektiert, Überlegungen zu Schwerpunktsetzungen und Evaluierung besprochen und die Konsequenzen von Fair Pay für Subventionen diskutiert.

An der Sitzung des Kulturausschusses nahmen die zu diesem Zeitpunkt ressortführende Stadträtin Uschi Schwarzl (GRÜNE) sowie die Mitglieder des Kulturausschusses Irene Heisz (SPÖ), Christoph Appler (ÖVP), Andrea Dengg (FPÖ), Astrid Denz (FPÖ), Thomas Lechleitner (GRÜNE), Dejan Lukovic (GRÜNE), Mesut Onay (ALI), Theresa Ringler (Für Innsbruck) und Julia Seidl (NEOS) teil, darüber hinaus auch noch Isabelle Brandauer (MA V, Kulturamt der Stadt Innsbruck), Rita Hebenstreit (MA V, Kulturamt der Stadt Innsbruck), Birgit Neu (MA V – Gesellschaft, Kultur, Gesundheit und Sport), Thomas Philipp (LIquA) und Aliette Dörflinger (externe Prozessbegleiterin, für LIquA).

Eine ausführlichere Darstellung der Diskussion fließt – ähnlich wie die Interviewergebnisse – in die Grundlagenarbeit zur Kulturstrategie ein, die im März hier auf dieser Webseite veröffentlicht wird.

#2 Update Kulturstrategie-Prozess: Ein Blick ins Projektteam

Der Kulturstrategie-Prozess befindet sich derzeit inmitten des ersten Arbeitsschrittes. Er umfasst einerseits wissenschaftliche Erhebungen und Analysen, andererseits die Vorbereitung der Diskussions- und Workshop-Formate im nächsten Jahr. Eine zentrale Funktion nimmt dabei das Projektteam ein. Es ist für die strategische Steuerung und Koordination verantwortlich und besteht aus fünf Personen:

  • Dr.in Isabelle Brandauer (Leiterin des Kulturamts)
  • Dipl.-Kult.in Rita Hebenstreit (Projektleiterin Kulturstrategie Innsbruck 2030)
  • Arch. Dipl.-Ing. Philipp Fromm (Mitarbeiter der Stadtplanung)
  • Norma Schiffer-Zobernig (Büro des Bürgermeisters)
  • Mag.a Aliette Dörflinger (externe Prozessbegleiterin)

In regelmäßigen Abständen wird über die nächsten notwendigen Schritte diskutiert. So wurden etwa beim letzten Treffen die Auswahlkriterien für die Personen festgelegt, mit denen im Rahmen der Grundlagenarbeit qualitative Interviews durchgeführt werden.

„Aktuell schafft das Projektteam eine gute Grundlage für eine breite Diskussion über Innsbrucks kulturelle Zukunft. Möglichst viele Innsbruckerinnen und Innsbrucker sollen sich dabei konstruktiv und ideenreich einbringen können. Dazu gehört auch eine gute Zusammenarbeit verschiedener Dienststellen im Haus. Ich bin schon sehr gespannt auf die Ergebnisse der Bestandsaufnahme, die nach den Interviews vorliegen werden.“

Mag.a Uschi Schwarzl, Vizebürgermeisterin der Stadt Innsbruck

„Wir haben uns für eine breite Beteiligung der Bevölkerung im gesamten Prozess entschieden. Es kommt daher darauf an, bereits in der Grundlagenarbeit Multiplikator*innen zu gewinnen, die in möglichst vielen Bereichen und Schnittstellen gut vernetzt sind und ausreichend Expertise haben. Das ist die wesentliche Grundlage für die Auswahl der Interviewpartner*innen, aber auch für die Besetzung der Arbeitsgruppe und des Advisory Boards. Wir machen es uns nicht leicht und diskutieren sehr intensiv darüber. Uns kommt es darauf an, vielfältig aufgestellt zu sein.

Dipl.-Kult.in Rita Hebenstreit, Kulturamt der Stadt Innsbruck

Aliette Dörflinger führt die Interviews gemeinsam mit ihrem Kollegen Thomas Philipp vom Linzer Institut für qualitative Analysen durch.

„Unsere Interviewpartner*innen decken verschiedene Organisationsformen, unterschiedliche künstlerische Sparten, traditionelle und zeitgenössische Zugänge zu Kunst und Kultur, verschiedene Phasen von der künstlerischen Produktion bis hin zur Vermittlung, Laien- und Profiarbeit und Schnittstellen wie Tourismus, Bildung oder Wirtschaft ab. Auch der Blick von außen war uns ein Anliegen, genauso wie die Berücksichtigung soziodemografischer Merkmale wie Geschlecht und Alter.“

Mag.a Aliette Dörflinger, externe Prozessbegleiterin

Im Dezember-Beitrag auf der Webseite wird die Liste der Interviewpartner*innen veröffentlicht und ein kurzer Einblick in die laufende Grundlagenarbeit gegeben.

Ebenfalls intensiv diskutiert wurde im Projektteam über die Besetzung der Arbeitsgruppe und des Advisory Boards, die begleitend zu den Diskussionen und Workshops ab April 2021 aktiv sein werden. Beide Gremien werden vom Kulturamt der Stadt Innsbruck beschickt. Für die Workshops selbst wurden die möglichen Termine und Orte sondiert und ein Plan B erörtert, falls es – unverhoffter Weise – zu Einschränkungen bei Veranstaltungen kommen sollte.

„Eine sorgfältige Vorgehensweise beim Kulturstrategie-Prozess ist uns sehr wichtig. Wir möchten einen optimalen Rahmen für eine breite Beteiligung schaffen. Dazu zählen beispielsweise die persönliche Ansprache verschiedenster Zielgruppen, wechselnde Workshop-Orte in verschiedenen Stadtteilen oder digitale Möglichkeiten der Einbringung.“

Dr.in Isabelle Brandauer, Kulturamt der Stadt Innsbruck

Die Verschränkung von Kunst, Kultur und Stadtplanung ist ein besonderes Anliegen im Kulturstrategie-Prozess.

„Wir werden uns mit einer Reihe an Themen auseinandersetzen müssen, die mit der Weiterentwicklung des städtischen Raums verbunden sind. Beispiele dafür sind etwa die kulturelle Nutzung von Leerständen, Kulturarbeit in den Stadtteilen oder die Rolle von Architektur im Stadt-Erleben.“

Arch. Dipl.-Ing. Philipp Fromm, Amt für Stadtplanung, Stadtentwicklung und Integration der Stadt Innsbruck